Shopping Cart

uDiscover Music

The Book Of Secrets 20th Anniversary LP

Loreena McKennitt

Chinese philosopher Lao Tzu's words are a good introduction to the third album in a trilogy of musical travel documents that began with The Visit. Recorded at Peter Gabriel's Real World studios in England, The Book Of Secrets was written and researched all over the world, and, following its release in 1997, would go on to sell several million copies around the globe.

The album features a cast of over two dozen musical collaborators, and the eight songs contained therein, including North American hit single The Mummers' Dance, leads the listener on unexpected journeys. Follow the music from ancient Byzantium to a puppet-maker's theatre in Sicily, or from the rocky island of Skellig Michael once inhabited by Irish monks in the Dark Ages to Venice and the journeys of Marco Polo, or from the tragic narrative of The Highwayman to the thunder of hooves across the Caucasus and the echoes of Dante's words found, unexpectedly, in a train journey across Siberia.



  1. Prologue
  2. The Mummer's Dance
  3. Skellig
  4. Marco Polo
  5. The Highwayman
  6. La Serenissima
  7. Night Across The Caucasus
  8. Dante's Prayer