Shopping Cart

uDiscover Music

Live At The Whiskey A-Go-Go 1968 (5LP + Turntable Mat)

Frank Zappa

On July 23, 1968, Frank Zappa & The Mothers of Invention took over the Whisky a Go Go for an all-night affair. FZ recorded the entire evening with the possibility of an album project. Although bits and pieces were released by Zappa over the years, a full live album never happened, and the tapes sat in the Vault for 55 years. Now all three sets by The Mothers are being released with brand new 2023 mixes in a 5-LP edition with 4-1/2 sides of music and the very last side featuring the first-ever silkscreen printed image on the vinyl for a Zappa release. Also included are liners by Joe Travers, Pamela Des Barres, and an interview by Ahmet Zappa with Alice Cooper. As an extra special bonus, a custom turntable mat is also included.




Side 1

  1. Whisky Improvisation: Episode I
  2. America Drinks & Goes Home
  3. Help, I’m A Rock / Transylvania Boogie

Side 2

  1. My Boyfriend’s Back
  2. Bust His Head
  3. Tiny Sick Tears Jam
  4. “The Purpose Of This Evening…”
  5. Whisky Improvisation: Episode II (Part 1)

Side 3

  1. Whisky Improvisation: Episode II (Part 2)
  2. Status Back Baby
  3. Memories Of El Monte
  4. Oh, In The Sky
  5. Valerie

Side 4

  1. “Fun & Merriment”
  2. Hungry Freaks, Daddy
  3. King Kong - Part 1

Side 5

  1. King Kong - Part 2
  2. Octandre
  3. Whisky Improvisation: Episode III
  4. Meow
  5. God Bless America
  6. Presentation Of Wings
  7. Plastic People

Side 6

  1. Della’s Preamble
  2. The Duke - Take 1
  3. The Duke - Take 2
  4. Khaki Sack

Side 7

  1. The Whip
  2. Whisky Chouflée

Side 8

  1. Brown Shoes Don’t Make It
  2. Brown Shoes Shuffle

Side 9

  1. The Whip (FZ Mix)
  2. Hungry Freaks, Daddy (FZ Mono Mix)

Side 10

  1. (No Music) – “Mothers” Silkscreen Image